Ray Lewis Hosts UM Sports Hall of Fame 3rd Annual Dolphin Tournament

2013 Celebrity Tournament to benefit The Buoniconti Fund, Habitat for Humanity and Hall of Fame

March 14, 2013 – Hurricanes sports fans can register now for the University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame (UMSHoF) 3rd Annual Dolphin Tournament, which will take place June 28-29 at the Postcard Inn at Holiday Isle in Islamorada, FL.

Ray Lewis, a former Hurricanes linebacker and two-time Super Bowl winner with the Baltimore Ravens, will host this year’s activities, which include a captain’s meeting, full day of fishing, awards dinner and live and silent auctions involving sports memorabilia as well as a variety of gift packages. Cash prizes and trophies will be awarded to anglers in eight categories. A portion of the tournament proceeds will go to The Buoniconti Fund to Cure Paralysis, Habitat for Humanity of the Upper Keys and the UMSHoF.

“A record number of well-known former Hurricanes will participate this year,” said K.C. Jones, president-elect of the UMSHoF, a 2008 hall inductee, two-time Super Bowl winner with the Denver Broncos and founder of the tournament. “Along with this, we’ve seen an increase in inquiries from fans who want to fish, network and simply have fun with other supporters of The U. We expect the tournament to have 500 participants and 100 boats in what is only its third year. There is no better place to be in Florida than the Keys in June to support important causes.”

Ray Lewis added: “The University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame Celebrity Dolphin Tournament is a great opportunity for Hurricanes fans and former student-athletes. I look forward to a weekend of fun, rewarding activities that are planned for this year’s tournament.”

Former Hurricanes sports stars slated to participate include NFL Hall of Fame Inductee and 2012 Tournament Host Warren Sapp (Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Oakland Raiders), NFL Hall of Fame Member Ted Hendricks (Baltimore Colts, Green Bay Packers, Oakland and Los Angeles Raiders), NFL Hall of Fame Member Jim Kelly (Buffalo Bills), Brett Romberg (Jacksonville Jaguars, St. Louis Rams and Atlanta Falcons), Gary Dunn (Pittsburgh Steelers), Damione Lewis (St. Louis Rams, Carolina Panthers, New England Patriots and Houston Texans), and Randal Hill (Miami Dolphins, Arizona Cardinals and New Orleans Saints).